Work Selflessly With No Concern For Outcome Or Reward

This is a key learning borrowed from the Bhagavad Gita.

Yoga is a wonderful way to live life. It is loosely associated with Hinduism, but Hinduism is not the basis of the Bhagavad Gita. The religion adopted its teachings. So did most religions.

Of course, no book was written before the tools were available to write things down around 3200 BC. This is about the time the story took place in The Bhagavad Gita, around the time men had Chariots for their battles. The story is considered a metaphor for the inner battle.

The Bhagavad Gita explains the forms of Yoga that lead to freedom, Kaivalya, serenity, satisfaction with life.

The forms of Yoga are as follows

1. Hatha — meaning the Yoga of Force, is where Asana practices reside.

2. Raja — meaning the Royalty form of Yoga. Obtaining the supreme abode through death is one form of Yoga. In Yoga, this is interpreted as being close to your Purusha, your connection to the unknown.

3. Karma — meaning the Yoga of Service. Karma means the sum of a persons actions. We can effect our life in a positive way if we practice selfless service without concern for outcome or reward.

4. Bhakti — meaning the Yoga of Devotion. This branch is usually practices in the real of chant or singing.

5. Jnana Yoga — meaning the Yoga of Knowledge. This branch relates to studying the masters or leaders in a field.

6. Dharana Yoga — meaning the art of concentration. This is a creative force in Yoga.

7. Dhyana Yoga — meaning the Yoga of Meditation. This starts with the Physical realm, travels through Breath into the astral realm, knowing personal thoughts, feelings, emotions and memories, into the Cosmic realm which is close to the universal cosmos.

7. Tantra Yoga — meaning the yoga of managing the Subtle Body. This deals with the nervous system, electrical energy, thoughts, feeling and emotions.

8. Atindriyam Yoga — meaning the yoga of transcending the physical state of being. This involves reaching the state of Samadhi through deep meditation regularly.

10. Pranayama Yoga — meaning the yoga of Breathing. This includes the practice of breathing exercises to encourage full embodiment.

11. Artha Yoga — meaning the yoga of social discernments. Yoga describes five personal discernments and five relational discernments. Personal discernments are cleanliness, contentment, austerity, self-study and surrender. Relational discernments are kindness, truthfulness, misappropriating, moderation in all things, generosity.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
ML Bosin, MA, Writer, Yoga/Ayurveda Consultant

I used to be a Licensed Therapist. I did not fit well. I am a simple person. Psychology sometimes complicates things. Now I write, paint, and Counsel.